Automation updates

I know a lot of you have been waiting for these amazing new features! Let's talk about the automation updates.

To create a new automation, click the Automation tab, then Create new workflow and then Workflow trigger. I'll choose the sign-up form: Weekly newsletter pop-up form. This means that everyone that signs up via that form will get the entire workflow you'll build on the left. Now hit Save.

For this example, I'll first add an email as a first step. This means people will receive the email after their signup. I'll create the email later, for now I'll save it and return to the automation overview.

In this view, go to the Forms area and click on the title of any form. If you now go to the Automation tab, you'll see all the automated workflows connected to that particular form. In this view, you can also create a new automation. When you click the orange button, you'll automatically see the step When subscriber joins the form.

When you go back, you'll see all the automations again.

In this video, I'll show you an automation example with different conditions based on whether a person opened an email or not. In the past, you needed 2 conditions (a Yes or No to opened the email). Now you can click on 1 condition block and add up to 5 conditions.

To do this, you need to select the Workflow activity, the Workflow email and Was opened. Now when a user opens the email, they'll be added to the group Engaged and if they don't, they'll continue with the alternative workflow steps.

Another new function is All rules — where users need to adhere to both of the rules you set. In the video example, users need to open both emails to be added to the group Engaged. When they just open 1 of the emails, they'll follow the alternative path.

There's also a new step called Move to another step. Let's say you have 2 identical steps in your workflow in 2 different branches. For example, at some point a user is added to the group Engaged, but it happens somewhere in the left branch and somewhere in the right branch.

Before, if you wanted a user to continue the exact same workflow after coming to that particular step (in this case, when joining the Engaged group), you would have needed to recreate the workflow double, for both the left and right branch.

Now you can move users to another step and let them continue from that step (meaning, you only need to create the workflow once).

To move a user, first click Filter by step and choose the step (in this case Action). Then select the action. Every block in the workflow is numbered (upper right). You can also hover over the titles in the dropdown menu, this will highlight the block in the workflow. Your user will then continue within the workflow from the step that you selected.

There are also 2 new conditions: Group members and Segment members. Let's say you use a sign-up form with different groups that are all attached to 1 workflow trigger. You can now decide to use the same workflow for all groups or build a specific branch for a specific group within the same workflow.

Another new feature is that you can set where existing users should start a workflow. Before, whenever you created a workflow and activated it, you could include existing users but they would start from step 1. Now you can decide at which step they should start.

The workflow activity has also been updated. In this view, you can see where people are in the workflow (completed, queued or cancelled). The ones that cancelled at some point, can be added back into the workflow. However, before you could only reactivate them from the step where they originally cancelled at. The new update is that you can reactivate them and choose any step in the workflow.

Also the history is updated. You can now preview and restore workflows. The overview is much cleaner too!

Want to read more details about the automation updates? Check out all the updates in our blog post.