Search MailerLite
Start typing to search

No results

No results

How to delete or forget a subscriber

There are three ways you can remove a subscriber from your account: 

  • Delete: removes the subscriber from your account, but all their information is still kept in case they re-subscribe to your list.

  • Forget: removes the subscriber from your account and all information will be completely deleted in 30 days. This feature is GDPR compliant.

  • Unsubscribe: removes the subscriber from your active subscriber list and newsletters won’t be sent to them. 

We’ll only focus on deleting and forgetting a subscriber in this article. Read Everything about unsubscribed recipients to learn more about it.

Deleting a subscriber can be done in two different ways:

  • From the main list, group, or segment page view

  • On the subscriber’s profile 

However, forgetting a subscriber can only be directly on the subscriber’s profile. It is a feature that is GDPR compliant.

From the main list, group, or segment page view

Note: This method only works under the current Subscriber management.

  1. Head to Subscribers

  2. On your main list, a group or a segment, tick the box(es) for the subscriber(s) you want to delete.

  3. Click on the Actions button above the list after selecting at least one subscriber. 

  4. Select Delete.

If you wish to remove a subscriber from a group but still keep them on your main list, select the option Remove from group. Selecting the option to Delete a subscriber on a group’s page will remove the subscriber from your account. 

From the subscriber’s profile

  1. In your main list, a group, or segment, look for the subscriber you wish to delete or search for the subscriber on the text box next to the magnifying glass.

  1. Click on their email address to view their profile.

  2. Click on Actions at the top-right corner of the page.

  3. Select Delete or Forget.

If you want to restore deleted subscribers, please contact us at support@mailerlite.com or use the live chat feature if you’re a premium user. 

Keep in mind:

  • The only way to restore deleted subscribers is by restoring all of them. It is not possible to restore only specific subscribers.

  • It's not possible to restore forgotten subscribers. If you accidentally forget a subscriber, you must wait 30 days before re-adding them.

Still have questions?
If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at support@mailerlite.com. A member of our support team will gladly assist you.