Search MailerLite
Start typing to search

No results

No results

Everything about unsubscribed recipients

Unsubscribed recipients are subscribers that no longer want to receive your newsletter. They may have clicked the unsubscribe link in the footer of your newsletter, been unsubscribed when cleaning up inactive subscribers or been manually unsubscribed by you.

Unsubscribed recipients are automatically removed from your active subscriber’s list as soon as they unsubscribe. They’ll no longer receive newsletters or be included in your automation workflows.

They can be found on the Subscribers page in your All subscribers tab when you toggle to view Unsubscribed.

If you are using the old subscriber management: you can also double-check unsubscribed users in each of your groups under the Unsubscribed tab.

You may need to manually unsubscribe someone if they contact you directly to be unsubscribed, or if you no longer want them receiving your newsletter.

To unsubscribe someone manually:

  1. Go to the Subscribers page and click Search all subscribers.

  1. Type the email address you want to unsubscribe into the search field.

  1. Click on the email address to open their Subscriber profile.

  2. Click the red Unsubscribe button in the right-hand corner.

  1. Confirm by clicking Yes.

That’s it! The subscriber is now moved to Unsubscribed and newsletters won’t be sent to that email address anymore.

To unsubscribe multiple recipients at once:

  1. Navigate to your All subscribers tab.

  2. If you need to, use a filter to search and find the subscribers you want to unsubscribe.

  1. Select all the subscribers. If you are using filter(s) to choose your subscribers, only subscribers that apply to the filter(s) you have set will be selected. Otherwise, check the subscribers you wish to unsubscribe.

Note: If you click Select visible, only subscribers visible on that page will be selected.

  1. Once you have subscribers selected, an Actions button will appear. Click it.

  2. Select Move to unsubscribed.

If you have subscribers that you want to unsubscribe in a file, you can import that file into a group; then open the group and follow the above instructions from step 4 onwards to move them to Unsubscribed.

Activating subscribers who have unsubscribed is quick and easy. However, you should have clear, documented permission from the subscriber to receive your emails.

You may need to do this in cases where you have accidentally moved the wrong subscriber to Unsubscribed; or if a subscriber contacts you asking to be resubscribed.

To active an unsubscribed recipient:

  1. Navigate to your All subscribers tab and click Search all subscribers.

  1. Enter the email address of the subscriber you wish to resubscribe.

  1. Click on the email address to open the Subscriber profile.

  2. Click the Subscribe button in the right-hand corner.

  1. Confirm the subscription by clicking Yes.

Note: You can’t activate unsubscribed recipients in bulk. If you have unsubscribed multiple subscribers by accident, please contact customer support.

Still have questions?
If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at support@mailerlite.com. A member of our support team will gladly assist you.