Automation overview

To create a sequence of emails or “Workflows” as we call it in MailerLite, click Create a new workflow. Add a name and select a group of subscribers. You can select or exclude different groups from this workflow by using the links above the group selection. Then select a trigger for this workflow. You can choose a trigger when a subscriber joins a group, joins or exits a segment, or matches a date. When you are done editing, click Save and start building your workflow.

Clicking the plus icon allows you to add 4 different types of steps.

With the first step you can create an email, add a subject line and enter the sender details. Use Google UTM support tags if your site supports that and choose your preferred language.

For designing the email, you can use our drag & drop editor, custom HTML editor, or Rich Text editor. Select a recent email from sent, a draft or even another automation to begin with. For this tutorial, we’re using a pre-built template. This is the email your subscribers will receive immediately after joining the group.

But what if we want the person to get the email 2 days later? This is where delays come in. This is the second step in our 4-step-process. Click on Delay, add a number of 2 days, and click Save.

The third step you can create is a condition. It will split subscribers based on settings you choose.

The settings can be based on:

  • Workflow activity
  • Custom fields
  • Segment membership
  • Campaign activity

In this video, we’ll choose Workflow activity. It will split the subscribers into groups based on whether they opened the email or not. Then we need to add another delay for 2 days. This will give our subscribers some time to open the email.

In case they then still didn’t, you can send another email. Click on the Plus icon below the red thumbs down button and select your new email.

For the readers that did open the email, you can add an action. In the actions condition you can:

  • Copy subscribers to a new group
  • Move subscribers to a new group
  • Mark subscribers as unsubscribed

We’ll choose copy subscribers to a new group called “Engaged”.

If all of the steps are completed, the workflow can be activated. While the workflow is on, you can click on any step to edit it or view the report of a specific email.

However, to add or delete steps, you have to turn the workflow off first. When deleting a condition, for example, you have the option to delete both branches, delete only the Yes branch or only the No branch.

To view all of your workflows, click on Back to automation. From this view you can:

  • Organize your workflows into folders
  • Filter and sort workflows
  • Hover over to see the email in the workflow
  • View or edit the report
  • Delete the workflow altogether